Advisory Council

About the Council

Financial Dispute Resolution Service is governed by FairWay’s Board of Directors and a specially appointed Advisory Council who provide advice and recommendations. 

The Advisory Council is made up of five members: an independent chair, two industry representatives and two consumer representatives.


Independent Chair

Stephen Ward

Stephen is a consultant in the corporate and commercial department of Simpson Grierson.  He advises corporations and crown entities on all aspects of corporate governance, statutory compliance, companies law, mergers and acquisitions, overseas investment in New Zealand and related issues.

Stephen also has more than 25 years' experience establishing, managing, amalgamating and winding up life and general insurance companies, superannuation schemes, KiwiSaver schemes, and other investment vehicles.

Stephen is an independent non-executive director of ASX-listed Sydney Airport, Sovereign Assurance Company Limited, SecureFuture Wiri Limited, SecureFuture Wiri Holdings Limited and Central Emergency Communications Limited.

Stephen is a trustee and Deputy Chair of the LifeFlight Trust, a member of the Governance Board a of Wellington Free Ambulance, a member of the Investment Management Committee of Wellington Free Ambulance, and a member of the National Provident Trust Board.

Stephen has a background in law, having trained as a solicitor in the UK, and is also a Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors.


Industry Representatives

David Whyte

David has served at senior management and director level in a number of prominent organisations, including the Insurance & Savings Ombudsman Scheme (ISO), the Insurance, Savings & Investments Association (ISI — now called the Financial Services Council – FSC), and Southern Response Earthquake Services Ltd.  He is currently the managing director for DCW Management Limited.

David served as General Manager of AIA in New Zealand, and as Managing Director of AIG Life in Australia before returning to New Zealand.

In addition to a Master of Arts (Honours) degree, David has a post-graduate Masters Degree in Management and has completed a post-graduate course at Waikato University in Corporate Governance & Leadership. He is also a Chartered Member of the NZ Institute of Company Directors.


Toni Dodds

Toni is currently the Quality and Assurance Manager for Lifetime Group. 

She has over ten years’ experience in the financial advice industry and holds Level 5 qualifications, as well as degrees in Business and Supervision Management.


Consumer Representatives

Dr Pushpa Wood

Dr Pushpa Wood has been appointed as an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the Queen’s 90th Birthday Honours List for 2016 for her services to financial literacy and interfaith relations.

She was previously the Education Manager at the Commission for Financial Capability. She has worked across the school, tertiary, NGO and industry sectors to improve adult literacy and financial literacy, and was a member of the New Zealand Qualifications Authority’s project advisory group reviewing financial literacy unit standards.

Dr Wood has extensive experience in developing teaching and learning resources, training and development, strategic planning and stakeholder relationship. Her research interests include identifying trigger points that motivate people to change their financial behaviour, preparedness of women in planning for their future and testing culturally appropriate evaluation tools. She has been involved in many national and international consultancy projects in financial literacy and capability building.


Bill Bevan

Bill is lawyer and a founding director of Kapimana Legal Services Ltd trading as Gault Bevan Law. He was also a founding Managing Solicitor at Whitireia Community Law Centre, Porirua. He was previously a consumer representative and chair of the Telecommunications Disputes Resolution Council.

In 2011, Bill received a QSM for services to the community.